2020 Town Committee Primary

On March 3, 2020 the Stamford Democratic City Committee and the Republican Town Committee will be holding a primary for committee members in select municipal districts. Both the DCC and the RTC are made up of 40 members — two for each district in the city. These committees are separate from the City of Stamford's Board of Representatives. Political party committees DO NOT vote on the City's budget, ordinances, or any other municipal action.

These committee members have various responsibilities, but one of the most significant is voting to select which candidate for a local election is officially endorsed by the local party. In local elections, candidates who appear as "Democrat" or "Republican" are candidates who have been officially endorsed by the respective local party.

You must be both a member of the respective political party and the respective municipal district to vote in the election. 

The following municipal districts will have elections on March 3. To find out which municipal district you belong to Click Here.  

Democratic Party

  • District 3
  • District 9
  • District 10
  • District 11
  • District 12
  • District 16

Republican Party

  • District 7
  • District 15
  • District 18

Note: This election DOES NOT affect local city government, state government, or the federal government. This includes the Connecticut Presidential Primary, which is held on April 28th.