Urban Redevelopment Commission

About Us

The Urban Redevelopment Commission is an agency created by the City of Stamford in 1954 according to state statute (see sec.8-124 to 8-1289 of the General Statutes of Connecticut) and handles municipal development projects.

Members are appointed by the Mayor with the approval of the Board of Representatives for five year terms. The powers and authorities of the Commission are conferred by the State and are described in the General Statutes. The URC has all of the powers and duties of a redevelopment agency as set forth in the General Statutes.

The URC is authorized to prepare and/or approve plans for urban redevelopment and urban renewal projects, as well as certain other projects. Those plans must be approved by several City Boards, and ultimately by the Board of Finance and the Board of Representatives in order to become effective.

According to the General Statutes, Urban Redevelopment Commissions are invested with authority for certain powers and certain financing techniques not available to the City itself. Accordingly, the URC is designated as the Development Agency for the City of Stamford.

Mission Statement

The Stamford Urban Redevelopment Commission provides the critical leadership for the continuing innovative revitalization of the City.

Working in collaboration with the community, the Commission focuses on rehabilitating blighted areas; balancing population density and socio-economic diversity; promoting convenient affordable housing; enhancing pedestrian presence; improving the availability of suitable parking; expanding the job and tax base; and ensuring the attractiveness of buildings, open areas and urban infrastructure.

The successful result of the Commission’s activities will enhance the appeal of the City as a dynamic community in which to live work and shop.

Email the Urban Redevelopment Commission.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Tommie Jackson Executive Director (203) 327-9180 Ext. 15
Durelle Alexander Administrative Assistant (203) 327-9180 Ext. 10
Gennaro Catino Bookkeeper (203) 327-9180 Ext. 13

Board Members

Name Title
Taylor R. Molgano Secretary and Treasurer (R)
Mark Diamond Commissioner (D)
Jim Huerta Member (D)
Jonathan Winkel Member (D)