Parks and Recreation Sites
Cummings Park, a public beach, was once a popular spot for shell fishing. The park, developed in 1906, previously was known as Halloween Park because Mayor Homer Cummings cast the deciding vote to create it on Halloween Night.
Cove Island Park, 83-acre (340,000 m2) once a farm and then an enormous factory site, offers visitors a choice of beaches as well as picnic grounds and bluffs. It has a small wildlife sanctuary in the southwest corner that might be interesting for bird watchers.
Terry Connors Ice Rink shares a parking lot with Cove Island Park. It offers public ice skating for all ages and ability levels, group lessons and ice hockey. It is the home of the Stamford Youth Hockey Association.
Scalzi Park on Bridge Street has a playground, baseball and softball fields, volleyball courts, tennis courts, bocce courts, basketball courts, roller hockey courts, and a baseball stadium named "Cubeta Stadium." Stamford baseball leagues play baseball there. J.M. Wright Technical High School is next to the park. A skate park was opened at Scalzi in July 2007. The city sought input from users in planning the $309,850, concrete skate park and hired Grindline Skateparks Inc. of Seattle, Washington to provide a unique design and build it.
Kosciuszko Park a lively recreation spot located on the shores of Stamford Harbor, features baseball fields and basketball courts. There are also picnic tables and pavilions, grilling grounds, swings and play sets.
Mianus River Park the Mianus River flows through this public park, a 220-acre deciduous forest that straddles the Stamford-Greenwich border. It's a haven for dog walkers, mountain bikers, fishermen, hikers and joggers alike. The best entrance to the park is from Merribrook Lane, which is a well-hidden street accessible from Westover Road about a mile south of the Merritt Parkway.
Jackie Robinson Park on the West Side is named after baseball legend Jackie Robinson, who lived in Stamford, a small but charming recreation area located on the city's west side. It features tall trees, park benches and a stone statue of the Brooklyn Dodger legend himself. The facility is open until sunset.
Mill River Park - This Park is located in the center of downtown but its ancient grist mill (present when George Washington traveled through Stamford) was modernized in the 1920s. The result was interference with the seasonal changes in the river flow, chronic backup of silt, a loss of wildlife and an accumulation of debris. Demolition of the dam to re-establish the natural flow of the river and create a park designed by Olin Associates (the same firm that designed Bryant Park in New York) is currently underway.
Dorothy Heroy Park is a North Stamford recreational area that can be found near the corner of High Ridge Road and Riding Stable Trail, about four miles north off the Merritt Parkway. The facility houses a Little League field, picnic pavilions as well as basketball and tennis courts. There are also wooded areas, hiking trails, play sets and swings located on the premises
E. Gaynor Brennan Golf Course, referred to locally as Hubbard Heights, opened for play in 1922 as a private course and was purchased by the city in 1949. A long range Master Plan is currently being designed by Stephen Kay - Doug Smith Golf Course Design
|Kevin Murray||Parks & Facilities Manager||203-977-4606|
- City Parks
- Beach Stickers
- Cove Island Park
- Cummings Park
- Directions to Stamford Beaches
- Dorothy Heroy Park
- E. Gaynor Brennan Golf Course
- Jackie Robinson Park
- Kosciuszko Park
- Mianus River Park
- Parks & Recreation Facility Regulations
- Recreation & Leisure Services
- Recreation Fields Calendar
- Scalzi Park & Cubeta Stadium
- Terry Conners Ice Rink